In my many blogs, i have constantly put down a little known band that goes by the name Nickelback. Recently, many people have come to me asking me just why i have such hatred for them (side note: mostly women take up for them, which i guess means they look cute but don’t have to actually have any ability). well today i reveal it. The main reason why i have such contempt for Nickelback. why just hearing a song by them makes my ears bleed inside. Each time i hear a nickelback song, a year is taken off my life. Im now down to 41 years old. And that’s if i dont hear another nickelback song.

but why exactly do i have a problem with them? is it because their songs all now sound the same? is it because that since they got popular they apparently feel its ok just to coast on through now (guess it does work tho, look at the Eagles). Is it due to the fact that they’re canadian (possibly)? Well, here’s the real reason….

They had potential. There. I used to like them. I bought one of their first cd’s and liked it a lot. Leader of Men was a particulary good song. So, what im about to do is to show you to sets of lyrics. One from one of their first songs (aka a song that shows they have potential) and one from one of their latest songs (aka horse dung). That’s all im going to do. Im not even going to say anything afterwards since i believe it speaks for itself.

Here’s A sample of lyrics from Nickelback – Leader of Men (older song)

Tell your friends not to think out loud until they swallow.
Whisper things into my brain, your voice sounds so hollow.
I am not a leader of men since I prefer to follow.
Do you think I could have a drink since it’s so hard to swallow.
Yeah, so hard to swallow.

See? while that isnt by any means amazing, it’s at least decent and shows promise. But alas, promise was all they showed. Here are some lyrics to a newer song.

We were parked out by the tracks
We’re sitting in the back
And we just started getting busy
When she whispered “what was that?”
The wind, I think ’cause no one else knows where we are
And that was when she started screamin’
“That’s my dad outside the car!”

and, just so im proving my point, ill leave you with one more lyric part from a new nickelback song. ill edit it just in case people below legal age see it.

I wanna be great like Elvis without the tassels
Hire eight body guards that love to beat up BEEP holes
Sign a couple autographs
So I can eat my meals for free
(I’ll have the quesadilla, on the house)

