I am asked occasionally if I am a bitter man. The short answer is yes. The long answer is yessssssssssssssssssssssss. What makes me bitter you ask? Well, let me count the ways.

1. Other people’s happiness. Yes, I know I should be happy for them. And I am to an extent. They’ve made it to where they are suppose to be at this point and time while I apparently have not. Is it jealousy? No. I’m just upset that they are happy and I am not.

2. People in relationships. Of course this one will make me bitter. I couldn’t find a date if I paid for one. Other people sneeze and find someone it seems. Yes, I am glad for them. Do I believe that God is somehow against me finding someone and wants me to be alone forever? Short answer…yes. Long answer…I don’t actually know but it does appear to be that way.

Do I feel the need to pass my bitterness on to other people. No. do I get a certain thrill from it? Perhaps. Perhaps indeed.

I am really glad that some people have everything going for them. That’s all fine and dandy. But I really don’t need to have that shoved into my face. Just let me build my little bitter house for my little bitter self filled with little bitter furniture. Then I’ll have a little bitter tea party and invite all my little bitter friends to show up, which of course they won’t cause they have better things to do, thus forcing me to become even more bitter.

